Lee Harvey is an Emmy Award-winning documentary producer, who wrote, produced and directed "Culture of Hate: Who Are We?" The one-hour documentary, which examines the world of white racist youth in San Diego, was awarded a prestigious Silver Baton duPont-Columbia Award in 2003. The film was also honored for Outstanding Coverage of Race and Ethnicity in Journalism by Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism. Regionally, the film received Best of Show at the San Diego Press Club Awards, The Sol Price Prize for Responsible Journalism (top prize) from the San Diego Society of Professional Journalists and the 2003 Associated Press Television and Radio Assn. Community Impact Award.

Harvey also produced the documentary, "Methamphetamine: From the Streets of San Diego", which earned her a regional Emmy Award for Best Documentary and First Place for Investigative Reporting in Television from the San Diego Press Club in 1999.

Harvey has worked extensively with public television station WGBH in Boston, where she was the series associate producer and a segment field producer for "The Health Quarterly." The national documentary series on health policy and AIDS was recognized with a George Foster Peabody Award for Outstanding Journalism, two national Emmy Awards, a Robert F. Kennedy Award and an Ohio State Award. She has spoken at DePauw University, Vanderbilt University, USC's Institute for Justice and Journalism, San Diego State University and the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism among other places. She is an Advisory Board Member of the Let's Do It Better! Workshops on Journalism, Race & Ethnicity at Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism. She has a B.A. from Emerson College.